Seasons of the Year

The seasons of the year are called as estações do ano.
Their names have Latin origins, which by now you must be noticing is very common in Portuguese. (Don’t you wish you had paid more attention to Latin in school? 😜)

Primavera Spring
Verão Summer
Outono Autumn
Inverno Winter

Duration of each season

  • Primavera: 20 de Março - 21 de Junho March 20 - June 21
  • Verão: 21 de Junho - 23 de Setembro June 21 - September 23
  • Outono: 23 de Setembro - 21 de Dezembro September 23 - December 21
  • Inverno: 21 de Dezembro - 20 de Março December 21 - March 20

Em fevereiro, ainda é inverno. In February, it's still winter.
Agosto é um mês de verão. August is a summer month.
O outono começa na quinta-feira. Autumn starts Thursday.

What did you think? Leave a Comment for Rui & Joel:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.